Kindle Fire VS Nook Tablet

The holiday season is upon us and no doubt there will be many eReaders and Tablets under the tree this year. Barnes and Noble is running some great televisions ads for the Nook using James Paterson and Glee star Jane Lynch, catering to more than one generation of readers and tablet Nook users. B&N has even stepped up their order for this holiday season, expecting to sell more than the expected.

One question I am constantly asked is what device is the best device?

I have the original Kindle and I still use it. I also have an iPad, and I use that, though less for reading and more for testing the eBooks I create for Who Dares Wins Publishing on the Nook App, the Kindle App and the Kobo App. This way I can “see” how each of my files is performing and if any tweaks or adjustments need to be made. I write on my iPad, do email and search the Internet, so the functionality of it is much greater than my 1st Generation Kindle. However, there is nothing like curling up in my favorite chair on the back porch and reading on my dinosaur Kindle.

But now we have the Kindle Fire and the Nook Tablet.

Both are considerably less costly than an iPad and both have some really cool features. I buy the majority of my books either from Barnes and Noble or from Amazon. I can find just about any book on either site. I can’t say the same for iBooks. I have no problem searching outside the App for books. On Amazon, I can specify where I want the book sent: My Kindle, My iPad, My Computer or my Droid phone. I can easily sync all my devices, so my books are with me 24/7. How cool is that? Nothing worse than getting stuck at the ice rink without a book to read…but I have my phone…so I have a book! So lets say I’m sticking with my iPad.

But for those who are in the market, what really are the differences?

Price is a big difference between the iPad and the Kindle Fire and the Nook Tablet. But there is only a $50 difference between Fire and Nook. So, between the two, which one would I recommend?

This is a one size does not fill all type of questions. I read an article from PC World that really broke down the basics between the two. The article states that Nook is the clear winner for reading, physical design, personalization and email. Kindle is the clear winner with regard to buying or renting books, music and video and speakers. Neither one scored well in terms of multitasking, pictures and personal video and apps. You can read the entire article here.

Here is a Youtube video comparing the two tablets.

Whether you buy a Kindle Fire, Nook Tablet or any other eReader or Tablet device, there is no doubt eBooks are fast becoming the number one way to enjoy a good story.

Write It Forward!

Registration is open for Bob Mayer’s Write It Forward on-line Workshop. For details click here.

This is a 2 month on-line course. The course is hosted on a Yahoo Group and is interactive.

For both fiction and non-fiction authors, a workshop that focuses on educating writers how to be authors. Write It Forward is a holistic approach encompassing goals, intent, environment, personality, change, courage, communication and leadership that gives the writer a road map to become a successful author. Many writers become focused on either the writing or the business end; Write It Forward integrates the two. Write It Forward fills a critical gap in the publishing industry paradigm. While there are numerous workshops focused on just the writing, this is the only one that focuses on the strategies, tactics and mindset a writer needs to develop in order to be a successful author. 

About Jen Talty

Publishing Consultant, Author of Romantic Suspense and Co-Creator of Cool Gus Publishing with NY Times Best-Selling Author Bob Mayer.

Posted on December 19, 2011, in eReaders and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I’d be interested to know how you rated the Kobo Vox.

  2. I haven’t actually played with the Kobo Vox like I have with the Nook Tablet and Amazon Fire. However, Kobo is using Android software and I like Android and their app system.

    All of these tablets are going to get better and better as the technology adjusts to what consumers really want. The big thing that is lacking is apps, but that will change.

  3. I have a 3rd generation Kindle and I love it. It goes everywhere with me. I’m really interested in the new Kindle Fire. More because I believe my kids would more than likely enjoy playing with it and perhaps get into the spirit of reading. Perhaps I’m bias from having a kindle and wanting to “keep it in the family” so to speak, but I would go for the Kindle Fire. Nice review. I’m with you on the accessibility of the Kindle Cloud, able to read where ever you have the app. It’s highly beneficial. Thanks for the info. I’m putting the Kindle Fire on my Birthday list.

  4. Thanks for the review. I haven’t used the Nook, but I like my Kindle. It’s easy to use and I can get best-selling books relatively cheap and easy. I still buy books occasionally and check out a lot of library books, but if you want to get a hot book that’s either too expensive or not available from the library, there’s nothing like the Kindle.

  5. You can get the Kindle (and other content apps) on the Nook. There are also B&N content deals similar to Amazon’s.

    Root your device, install whatever android market app you want to consume content with.

    For me, the added RAM + SD card = win.

    from: Kindle fire comparison ipad 2

  6. I sold my iPad, use my Kindle sometimes (while traveling mostly), but still prefer reading an old-fashioned book. I find ebooks too cold and impersonal, and I think a lot of book lovers, after experimenting with ebooks, will agree with me. I also like to lend/borrow books, and find DRM too much like Big Brother. That said, I’m no neo-luddite and agree with much of what you’ve written elsewhere about Big Publishing’s “not getting it.”

  7. Hi, many thanks for revealing your ideas in Kindle Fire VS Nook Tablet | Bob Mayer's Blog. This is actually an awesome blog.

  8. Someone essentially assist to make significantly posts I would state. This is the very first time I frequented your web page and so far? I amazed with the analysis you made to create this particular put up amazing. Wonderful process!

  1. Pingback: A Very Special Tabhartas (tribute)… « Kate Wood's Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154,892 other followers

