Promoting your book in iBooks

One of the questions I’m constantly asked when I present workshops on Indie Publishing is: How do we promote in iBooks? or How do we increase sales in iBooks? Its not an easy question to answer. One of the things I’m working on today for Cool Gus Publishing is to add links in our website to where our eBooks are available on other sites. We believe this is a good service for our customers and some people just want that easy “one-click” from Amazon or prefer to buy from Barnes and Noble, supporting the bookstore.

But working inside of iBooks is all together a different bird simply because its contained in iTunes.

Recently, Apple sent us a couple of PDF’s about how to promote and market using some of their tools. We got this email because we use iTunesConnect to load our books directly to the iBookstore. Here are a couple of things I think are useful and are not that difficult to use.

The Book Widget. You can actually do this for other products as well.

From Apple: “With Widget Builder, you can easily add interactive widgets to your website or blog. These widgets allow users to explore books and more from the iBookstore and iTunes.”

Go here to see builder.

Basically, you find the books you want, add them to your widget and then copy the code and put it where you want in your website. Depending on your blog, you can do it there, but this morning WordPress is being fussy, so click on image to see the actual widget.

I like this widget and when I rebuild Bob’s site (creating a new Cool Bob site) I will be adding these kinds of widgets making it easy for the reader to find the books they love on the sites that work for them. Its all about the reader!

Another neat thing is the link creator.

From Apple: “With Link Maker, you can create links to content on the iTunes Store, the App Store, the iBookstore, and the Mac App Store, and then place those links on your website, marketing emails, or within your app.”

Go here to use the linkmaker.

Below is a link I created for Bob’s audio book The Jefferson Allegiance. When you click on it you have to launch your iTunes, which can be troublesome for some, but its the only way to get things from iTunes anyway.

The Jefferson Allegiance (Unabridged) - Bob Mayer

I have a lot more reading to do on different things that Apple is doing and creating in order to help the author promote their books. These are just two quick things you can do to make it easier for your customer to get what they love, they way the love it.

Now I have to go put all this on our website….

About Jen Talty

Publishing Consultant, Author of Romantic Suspense and Co-Creator of Cool Gus Publishing with NY Times Best-Selling Author Bob Mayer.

Posted on May 30, 2012, in Write It forward. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Awesome information, Jen. I am still amazed at how fast things are changing.

  2. That’s really useful, thanks!

  3. awesome. thanks so much. Any good book goes to waste when not marketed well.

  4. THANK YOU. This is great.

  5. Concise and helpful, Bob. Thanks!

  6. REALLY USEFUL THANKS :)

  7. Jen,thanks for the helpful tips…www.ronalddestra.com

  8. Thank you, Jan! :) But I am still curious to know how to promote a book inside iBookstore, for example with a front banner etc. Have you any info about this?

  9. Thanks for this well laid out exposition. It’s exactly what I was looking for!

  10. Thanks, this is very helpful. Did you find out how to insert the widget on a WordPress.com page ? I tried to copy what Apple game me as html code in the text mode on my page, but nothing appears when I switch to “visual”

  11. This is a topic which is close to my heart.
    .. Thank you! Where are your contact details though?

  12. You’re so awesome! I do not suppose I have read through anything like that before. So great to discover another person with a few genuine thoughts on this subject matter. Really.. thank you for starting this up. This web site is one thing that is required on the web, someone with some originality!

  13. Hello there, I think your site may be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however when opening in IE,
    it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to give you a quick heads up! Apart from that, wonderful website!

  14. This design is steller! You definitely know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.
    ..HaHa!) Great job. I really enjoyed what you had
    to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  15. Howdy I am so glad I found your website, I really found you
    by error, while I was searching on Digg for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a remarkable post and a
    all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through
    it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS
    feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up
    the great jo.

  16. Great article

    I would also add to this list a visit to http://Bookpraiser.com

    They have a huge list of sites where you can promote your books for free

  17. Thank you for this article, I found it really useful. Now to try & put that advice into practice and actually sell some of my books…! ;)

  1. Pingback: Writing Blog Treasures 6~2 | Gene Lempp ~ Writer

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94,455 other followers

