A New Book: I, Judas: The 5th Gospel published today. No SEX

My latest title, I, Judas: The 5th Gospel, is now out, exclusive for 30 days to Nook First, and then it will be available everywhere.

They say never discuss money, sex, politics, religion or family.  Hmm.  Well, there’s no sex in the book.  Does that count?

My wife and I watch a lot of TV. We watch MSNBC and Fox News.  We watch Colbert and the Daily Show.  We watch Family Guy even though Rupert won’t let you fast forward through the commercials on your DVR.  We want to see all sides of things.  And that’s where I, Judas comes from.

I was an altar boy.  Not in Boston.  In New York City.  One of the most striking things I experienced was when we had a visiting priest, an African.  When we were in the sacristy after he said mass one day (and it had a walk in safe for all the chalices, et al, which by itself makes you wonder), we were talking.  And he said that if those people in the pews really believed the words they were mouthing, they would act much differently than they do.  The simple way he said it, even at that age, I could feel his sincerity.  I felt it when he said mass.  A lot of priests were going through the motions.  In nomine Patris, yada, yada,.  He meant what he said.  Every word.

By the way, we always got bigger tips at funerals than weddings.  Isn’t that weird?

I also went to Catholic School through Cardinal Spellman (same as some supreme court justice) until I went to West Point, which means I’m really socially stunted.

Anywho.  I, Judas: The Fifth Gospel grew out of a couple of things.  One, as noted, was trying to see both sides.  What if both sides were wrong about the Rapture?  I remember a movie years ago The Rapture.  It was brutal because it portrayed the Rapture occurring just as the Bible lays it out.  Don’t watch it unless you’re ready for some nasty stuff.

My book starts at The Last Supper.  Then goes to present day.

With an object appearing in space.  Three days out.  One side thinks its Wormwood.  The other an asteroid that came through a wormhole.  One side wants it to hit.  The other wants to stop it.

And then we’ve got Judas.  Sitting in the Amazon.  All these years.  Waiting.  For the Second Coming.  Except it aint what anyone expects.

And he has a story to tell.  About the Bible.  Do you know how many authors it had?  How long it took to be pulled together?  What was left out?  What Revelations is really about?

Jen Talty, my business partner, came up with the phrase Factual Fiction about my books.  I’ve written about a lot of stuff.  My wife and I joke when we’re watching TV (especially National Geographic, History, Military or Smithsonian Channels) and I’ll go “I wrote about that!”  And she’s like—“Yeah.  And?  You’ve written about almost everything.”  In my Area 51 series, I think most people would be surprised to realize 95% of it is factual.  I just add in a fictional reason.  For example, in Area 51 The Sphinx, the Sphinx has indeed been scored by rain.  Which brings its date into question.  And yes, sometimes I use the same fact over, such as in The Sphinx I use Sir Richard Burton’s lost manuscript as a plot device and in I, Judas I also use it as a plot device:  the lost Fifth Gospel of Judas.  But Burton’s wife, Isabella, did indeed burn a manuscript over his body.  So there was this mysterious manuscript.

So.  No sex in the book.  But I am going to put sex in Area 51 NightStalkers, which I’m writing now and will be released on 11 December from 47North.  I used to joke that the only sex I’d put in my books before collaborating with Jenny Crusie ended up with someone, usually the woman, dying.  That way the man didn’t have to make small talk and he could go avenge her death.  So look for a high body count in Nightstalkers.

About Bob Mayer

West Point Graduate, former Green Beret and NY Times bestselling author Bob Mayer has had over 50 books published. He has sold over five million books, and is in demand as a team-building, life-changing, and leadership speaker and consultant for his Who Dares Wins concept. He's been on bestseller lists in thriller, science fiction, suspense, action, war, historical fiction and is the only male author on the Romance Writers of America Honor Roll. Born in the Bronx, Bob attended West Point and earned a BA in psychology with honors and then served as an Infantry platoon leader, a battalion scout platoon leader, and a brigade recon platoon leader in the 1st Cavalry Division. He joined Special Forces and commanded a Green Beret A Team. He served as the operations officer for 2nd Battalion, 10th Special Forces Group (Airborne) and with Special Operations Command (Special Projects) in Hawaii. Later he taught at the Special Forces Qualification Course at the John F. Kennedy Special Warfare Center and School at Fort Bragg, the course which trains new Green Berets. He lived in Korea where he earned a Black Belt in Martial Arts. He's earned a Masters Degree in Education.

Posted on June 11, 2012, in Write It forward and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Really looking forward to reading this book.

    I have to add that, although I didn’t attend Catholic school, I was raised Catholic and still attend church…and I love your comments about the ability to spot sincerity in the priests (and laity for that matter) and the one about higher tips at funerals than at weddings. IMHO, it’s a phenomenon that stems from the idea of “buying graces” for journeying to the next life – so the likelihood of paying more at a funeral works in that mindset. :)

    Your take on sex scenes is spot-on, too…very funny, though there is something compelling about the protagonist avenging a lover under those circumstances. The emotionally-wounded lone wolf and all that, LOL.

    Great blog.
    –MRM

  2. Golly. I can’t think of anything to say about this that won’t get me in trouble with somebody, except that I’m now going to get the book.:)TX

  3. I started the book last night. Looking forward to reading it. I can’t wait to see how you handle this subject.

  4. The new book sounds fascinating Bob. Almost enough to entice me into buying an e-reader. I haven’t had the funds to do so yet. That’s why I’ve missed out so far on the free books you’ve offered us.

  5. The book sounds fascinating. As I said, I’ve always been fascinated by Judas. I won’t miss this one by you. Also, I wanted you to know that I found a place to let me know about the initals…but I figured out one by myself and I think it refers directly to me LSI means “Long Suffering Idiot ! )Am I not smart? I enjoy yout blogs. It seems I always learn something from each one. Thanks, Bob.

  6. No sex?! Well the idea for this story is one I like very much… and it’s controversial? Sign me up. I enjoy writing about and reading these kinds of ‘retakes’ on normal viewpoints of religion.
    cheers

  7. I’m not Catholic, though I went to Catholic school through 8th grade. I then graduated from a Catholic College. My youngest son goes to a Jesuit HS (his choice, FYI) and I married a good Irish Catholic. That is he is a C&E… OH, and my daughter goes to Catholic College. I remember having to take religious studies in College and frankly I wasn’t looking forward to it, but I ended up loving. One discussed how there were two creation stories in the bible and how different each one was. Another we discussed various contradictions in the bible, etc. One of my professors I thought was “way cool” because he constantly questioned the validity of the bible. He was a priest. Pretty cool priest too. I really liked I, Judas. Goes back to my description of Bob’s work: Factual Fiction. Very interesting and thought provoking.

  8. Life has overflowed its banks again, so I haven’t had time to finish the book yet. Therefore, no B&N review yet. Mostly, I’m enjoying it. Check “promptly sat down” used twice in a few hundred words, and odd. Got tangled up in verb tenses during geological history of Australia, have quibbles about number of pronoun “their” with singular antecedents. FM radio waves travel line-of-sight because of their high frequency/short wavelength, not because of the type of modulation used. Lower frequency/longer wavelengths travel NOE. The higher frequencies travel in a straight line, and bounce off things. Have heard talk that early man’s brain was wired differently than ours, so that their own thoughts sounded to them like God speaking. No, I didn’t buy that, either. This is a dull comment, so read and delete, please. :)TX

  9. PS: With that huge blazing object in the sky, what happens to the Earth’s temperature & weather systems? I feel pretty dumb right now, because I know I’m missing something.

  10. Looking forward to the new read. I am so back logged on books right now, but yours always go to the top of the heap (shhh don’t tell anyone) its because 1.) I can;t want and 2.) Once i pick it up I can;t put it down, ALWAYS :0)

  11. I’ve posted my thoughts on the book. Comments are open. All I ask is that you read my whole post before you cut away.
    Dratted WordPress isn’t going to leave me alone till I log in. So be it. Here’s the link to my reaction to the book.

    http://www.texanne.com/?p=2340

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127,004 other followers

