Thoughts from Thrillerfest; Discoverability; Nightstalkers and Whatever

For those who check my blog out and follow me on Twitter, you’ve probably noticed a bit of ‘ghosting’ on my part.  A fading out.  At West Point one of the keys to getting through Beast Barracks and Plebe Year for some was to ‘ghost’.  To not be noticed.

The primary reason for that is I am on deadline to deliver Nightstalkers (Area 51) at the end of this month.  I’m on track to do this and love this book.  I pitch it as The Unit meets Warehouse 13.  It’s a combination of the hard core action of my thrillers, an edge of paranormal from my Area 51 and Atlantis series, and more snark than usual for me, like the books I co-wrote with Jennifer Crusie.  By the way, I just signed the film option for Agnes and the Hitman.

Another reason, though, is I feel we can overdo social media.  To a point where it actually hurts us.  There are only so many ways to say the same thing over and over again.  Also if you take one side of whatever ‘brawl’ is going on, it means the people on the other side aren’t going to be too happy.  And, as I’ve said over and over, I don’t believe there are sides other than people doing what’s best for them.  I blogged about this on Digital Book World.  Speaking of which, DBW is running a conference in September:  Discoverability and Marketing 2012 with some excellent speakers.  They’re running a registration discount of $125 off if you use promotional code BOBMAYER which, well, is cool.  Never had my own discount code before.  I’m putting my money where my mouth is since I’m going to this conference and so is my business partner Jen Talty.  Since the key to book sales now is not distribution, but rather discoverability, we feel it’s a critical conference to attend.  I listened to Jon Fine from Amazon speak before (at the Whidbey Writers Conference) years ago.  In fact he got me started on pursuing a stronger working relationship with Amazon culminating in a three book deal with 47North for the Nightstalkers books, the first one being published on 11 Dec.

Which, someone pointed out to me, is the day before the world ends.  So, OF COURSE, that would be my pub date.  My wife and I often joke that if I really succeed, it will mean the end of the world, we just didn’t realize how literally we should take that.

Oh yes, Thrillerfest.  Pretty much business as usual in NY.  With a whole lot of fear layered on top.  It’s another interesting change in that when I attend a conference now, I spend very little time actually attending the conference.  I pick a few key workshops or panels, do my workshops and panels, but the rest of the time I’m in meetings with people.  Or writing like crazy.  Friday was a good example.  Jen and I took meeting with agents reference foreign rights; talked with another self-published author who had some great ideas, some of which we’re implementing and hopefully we gave him some good ideas; I did a virtual booksigning with audible (note my cool landing page at Audible with 28 titles live and more coming); then we did an hour and a half workshop on the future of publishing that evening.

Whatever.  When people approach us about having Cool Gus Publishing do their backlist or their non-fiction (which is pretty much all we’re looking for now) the first thing they always ask is:  How are you going to market me?  And Jen and I look at each other and sigh.  Because while we do market, it’s really not the key.  It’s rather hard to explain to someone what we do and why they need someone to do it for them.  We had a conference call Thursday night with an author I’m really hoping we can bring on board with her backlist.  And it took about 45 minutes before I sensed she got it.  She understood eBook publishing is an organic, not static process.  Also, a key is the stuff we do at conferences:  always searching out better and innovative ways of doing things. And, even more importantly, making connections with key players at Amazon. Barnes & Noble, Kobo, (anyone actually seen a live Apple rep?) and other places.

Which is why we’ll be at the DBW Discoverability conference in September.  By the way, that discount runs out Friday midnight.  So it’s decision time.

I also want to leave you with a fundamental concept that is at the key of the changes in publishing:  The product is not the book.  The product is the story.  Writers create stories.  Readers consume stories.  How that story gets from writer to reader concerns all the people between the two, but it can go in print, digital (audio or eBook) or sign language.  But we have to break ourselves from the notion that the book is the product.  Story is product.

About Bob Mayer

West Point Graduate, former Green Beret and NY Times bestselling author Bob Mayer has had over 50 books published. He has sold over five million books, and is in demand as a team-building, life-changing, and leadership speaker and consultant for his Who Dares Wins concept. He's been on bestseller lists in thriller, science fiction, suspense, action, war, historical fiction and is the only male author on the Romance Writers of America Honor Roll. Born in the Bronx, Bob attended West Point and earned a BA in psychology with honors and then served as an Infantry platoon leader, a battalion scout platoon leader, and a brigade recon platoon leader in the 1st Cavalry Division. He joined Special Forces and commanded a Green Beret A Team. He served as the operations officer for 2nd Battalion, 10th Special Forces Group (Airborne) and with Special Operations Command (Special Projects) in Hawaii. Later he taught at the Special Forces Qualification Course at the John F. Kennedy Special Warfare Center and School at Fort Bragg, the course which trains new Green Berets. He lived in Korea where he earned a Black Belt in Martial Arts. He's earned a Masters Degree in Education.

Posted on July 19, 2012, in Write It forward and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I like that concept. The product is the story. It makes a lot of sense to me. Stories can be delivered in a lot of different ways, and the delivery system can be changed, as we’re seeing now. I’ll be interested in what you learn in September. I’d love to attend, but it’s not practical at the moment, and anyway I’m sure you’ll relay the pertinent ideas!

  2. U nailed this for me, Bob! Exactly this…the story is our product not our book because that story can be told using a variety of mediums in today’s multi-media world.

    Product diversification is the key as each of us build our own multi-media empires.

  3. I’m the one who pointed out the end of the world comes the day after the release of NightStalkers…just saying.

    I just got back from a day in Toronto, Canada visiting the Kobo Offices. What a great group of very smart people. I was interviewed for Kobo’s Writing Life and that will be put on their website in the near future. I will, of course, blog latter about the event…with pictures! Its very exciting and I’m really looking forward to bringing Bob up there in November so they can interview him.

  4. I tried to find more information about the DBW 2013 conference and every link I click takes me to the 2012 conference.

  5. Ghost away. It’s more important to get those books written.

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites | Stanalei Fletcher

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121,063 other followers

